100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups

Posted: February 19, 2012 by INC in Flash fiction, fun
Tags: , , ,

Any takers?
This is a weekly challenge for those who are over 16 and enjoy challenging themselves with writing. Each week you are given a prompt. It may be a few connected words, a selection of individual words or a picture. You have 100 words (or the number that have been set for that week) to write a creative piece. One of the great things about the 100WCGU is how people visit other blogs and read the entries. It is all about supporting our writing and giving constructive feedback and support. For some, it is the start of longer pieces of writing, even novels!!

This weeks prompt is: It wasn’t my fault

The challenge is just the same this week as for the sixteen-year-olds and younger: it wasn’t my fault. you have these four words in addition to the hundred specified. The deadline is Tuesday. Put your entries in the comments box, and I’ll link this post to Julia’s page.

If no one has entered by Tuesday evening, I shall take down this post. To find out more go to Julia’s page http://jfb57.wordpress.com/2012/02/06/100-word-challenge-for-grown-ups-week-30/

Comments
  1. Oh I do hope someone will join in. It’s great fun & you get lots of comment s* visitors to the blog! Go on – have a go!

    • INC says:

      Maybe I’ll have to start the ball rolling…

      I looked at the Under 16s entries and couldn’t see ours, so I posted a link again. Did you see it? Also, we have been doing lots of stories with Jen Lunn who was with us for three weeks. Watch out for the e-book on the school website. We’ll post a link here when it happens.

  2. TheOthers1 says:

    I might try. It depends on how busy I get. I do love a good prompt though.

  3. Adriana says:

    Not long ago, we were all walking down the long long road that takes us to the very tall bridge.
    Some of us were not too sure where we were going to end up. Our friends were right behind us. it was a cold mid-morning and we kind of lost our path.
    Suddenly, I heard a very loud noise behind me.
    There was a car accident. We were all sooo scared and confused. We could not believe what had just happened.
    I had not realised that when we crossed the road my backpack opened and i dropped my water bottle. That made the driver lose control. I am sure it wasn’t my fault.

  4. Pseu says:

    George said he didn’t do it. Matty said “it’s not my fault.” They claimed they didn’t know where she hid her chocolate biscuits.
    Ella was furious.
    “I hide it in the hope that there will be some left if I a friend comes round. One measly packet a week or less… I make them last.” She glanced at them trying to judge who was telling the truth. “I buy plenty of biscuits. I just want a few.”
    In turn they shrugged and wandered off to other matters. Ella stamped her foot. Next time she’d find a new hiding place

  5. INC says:

    “How is he?” she asked, as they embraced.
    “Alright. They’re stitching him up now. There was lots of blood.”
    “Poor boy. How about you? You look pretty shaken.”
    He looked at the floor, miserable.
    “It was my fault.”
    She stared. “What?”
    “I’m to blame. I shouldn’t have taken him there.”
    “Oh for pity’s sake! That’s ridiculous. Of course it wasn’t your fault.”
    He looked mulish. “If it wasn’t my fault, whose was it?”
    “No one’s. It was an accident.”
    At that moment a door opened, and a woman led a limping Labrador towards them, its leg bandaged in dayglo pink, its tail wagging steadily.

  6. ROH says:

    And you say that you had nothing to do with the murder do you? Well I have video evidence that can put you at the shop at the same time as the victim. I didn’t do it honest to god I have nothing to do with whatever you are talking about. Well I beg to differ sir and I believe that the two witnesses will as well. Two witnesses I don’t have a clue what you are going on about. Two witnesses, this must be a set up. (Phone rings) ok I have just got off the phone with my supper and it turns out that you’re not telling the truth.

Leave a comment