100 wc On Holiday

Posted: July 5, 2013 by INC in 100 Word challenge, creative writing, Flash fiction
Tags: , ,

The sky was full of clouds making shadows on the water, hanging like benign whispers of summer.
It was the first day of the summer holidays. I was fifteen, away from home without my parents for the first time, staying with my aunt and cousins in their caravan.
I was looking forward to getting a tan and learning to windsurf.
But first there was ice cream to eat, and walks along the prom with my cousin Amy, giggling at the recycling bins lined up like so many aliens. And the prospect of six weeks of freedom ahead of us.

Comments
  1. aleunam says:

    what an imaginative and evocative 100wc. I wish I could write like this!

Leave a Reply

