The compromise

Posted: May 14, 2013 by dukefrederick in 100 Word challenge, creative writing, general
Tags:

One rainy day I decided to put on the radio full blast. My mum told me to turn it down. I said, “Why?” and she said, “Because I’m the mother and you’re the child.”
So I said, “yes, but Mum this music is awesome.”
So then my mum said, “ok,let’s compromise. Either you tern it down or I will.”
So in the end I gave in. I always thought that the music I was playing was powerful but not too powerful. But according to my mum the noise was deafening. So there you are I can’t even play music.

By dotdotdot … Yr 9

Comments
  1. Jen Lunn says:

    Really like this!!! Love that Mum’s compromise is not a compromise at all!! Ah Music, one person’s pleasure is another’s poison!

  2. swallow56 says:

    I enjoyed reading your post, let us know when you come with another solution!

  3. Gumby says:

    Really enjoyed reading this! But how unfair was the mother?!

  4. Thefirepoet says:

    Dear Dotdotdot,
    As a parent that rings a big bell. Maybe we shouldn’t use big words like compromise if we’re not prepared to carry them out. A telling and powerful piece that makes a cacophonic protest very gently and gracefully, thereby winning out ethically in the end – well done. Victory!

Leave a Reply

