The Sea

Posted: January 17, 2013 by dukefrederick in creative writing, poetry, Pupil
Tags: , ,

Because it’s a chameleon, constantly changing colour, different shades of sapphire that contain beauty within.

Because it’s as steamy as a warm bath, soothing against my skin.

Because it’s a sunny day, boiling down calmly on its subjects below.

Because it’s a window, clear as ice; the silk-like material gives us a view of the attractiveness of the appealing world beneath us.

Because it’s a pearl, glimmering with hope, untainted as yet by the extended grasp of humanity.

By TAA Year 9

Comments
  1. Aleunam says:

    My goodness! What lovely images you have used TTA – I found this poem so relaxing and evocative. I loved the concept of using a chameleon as a metaphor for the sea. It really made the sea take on a ‘persona’ of its own. I must say, my first associations with the sea are completely the opposite – the first things that come to mind for me are the rough sea, the dangerous and monsterous sea, the powerful and overwhelming sea – so this beautiful sea of calm, beauty, warmth and tranquility precious as a pearl was a wonderful contrast to the first associations I had when I saw the title! Thank you for making my day TTA.

  2. KF says:

    I really love this poem, you have added so much rich description to the original lines to create a vivid picture for the reader. Well done TTA.

  3. Flas says:

    I enjoy this poem of how you’ve changed the poem before into your own creation and going into extent about each line. The fact that you’ve made some lines short and some long makes it really diverse which I like.

  4. INC says:

    I think the first and the last lines work the best. You have used strong images that work well. They have real impact. I love the way you have built on the first poem to create something new and your own.
    The only line I am not sure about is the fourth one. Maybe if you have time, you might come back to it and see how you might make it better.
    Well done, good work on your first ever vist to the secondary classroom!

Leave a Reply

