Romeo and Juliet

Posted: October 25, 2012 by hbl010 in creative writing, HBL, Pupil, Schoolwork
Tags: , , , ,

This is my version of Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet, from Friar Lawrence’s point of view.  

I heard a lot about the fighting between the Capulet’s and the Montague’s. If I’m honest I think its extremely stupid. What is the point of fighting? Romeo, a Montague, came to see me. He told me he had been at a Capulet’s party and met a girl. She was called Juliet. She was the daughter of Lady Capulet and Old Capulet. Therefore, in their parents eyes, their love should be forbidden. But he was declaring his love for her. He was jumping around and shouting. He was so excited.

“Friar Lawrence, can we get married?” Romeo asked.

“Well, I’m surprised Romeo. It could, well you know, stop all the fighting. It could bring the Capulet’s and Montague’s together. You could all become friends,” I replied.

Romeo started running around, shrieking with joy. I’ve never seen someone so happy before. Romeo thanked me again and again, and the off he ran.

“You’re welcome,” I shouted into the distance. Romeo and Juliet came back that day.

“Are you sure you want to do this?” I asked Romeo.

“Of course I do. I love her.”

“And you Juliet. Do you want to do this?” I questioned.

“Yeah, I do. Me and Romeo are made for each other. We are going to get married,” replied Juliet.

“And what about your families?”

What about our families?” replied Romeo. “They no longer matter.”

They were both willing to give up their families for each other.

“Well I hope this can sort out your families feud” I said.

“Come, come with me and we will make short work. For, by your leaves, you shall not stay alone Till Holy Church incorporate two in one.”

Romeo and Juliet left the chapel now married and very much in love. They both looked happy.

Romeo returned two hours later. He informed me that his men and the Capulet’s had gotten into a fight and Tybalt had been murdered Mercutio who was Romeo’s best friend.

“I’m devastated” sobbed Romeo. He went on sobbing for another five minutes. I got up from where I was sitting and walked over to Romeo.

“What else happened Romeo? I know you’re not this upset over Mercutio. What have you done Romeo?” I asked raising my eyebrows. He carried on crying.

“I was angry, I saw red, I didn’t want to but..” he let out a loud scream.

“He killed Mercutio, so he needed to be punished.”

“Oh no Romeo. You didn’t did you?” I questioned.

Romeo lowered his head in shame. “Yes, I killed Tybalt because he killed Mercutio,” he started crying again.

“What am I going to do? I’ve killed Juliet’s cousin. The love of my life and I’ve killed her cousin.”

I tried to soothe him again, reassured him everything was going to be okay. “Romeo, she said she was willing to give up her family for you. I’m sure she’s not going to leave you,” I said attempting to calm him down.

“Benvolio, told me to leave, he said to leave or the Prince would kill me. The Prince said anymore fighting and there would be death.”

I sat there wondering how all this could be happening. So much fighting, so much bloodshed.

“Does this mean you’re on the run from the Prince then, Romeo?” I asked worriedly. Was I now concealing a fugitive?

“No no. The prince arrived and Benvolio explained that Mercutio and tybalt were fighting. Tybalt killed Mercutio and I acted in hast and killed Tybalt. He tried to be fair so he said there was no need for anyone to die but..” Romeo swallowed deeply. “I have been sent to exile.”

By now, Romeo could barely get a sentence out, he was crying so much.

“I have to leave Verona and leave Juliet and all my family behind. I want to die. That’s it, I’m going to kill myself.” cried Romeo.

There was a knock at the door. It was Juliet’s nurse. She came with a message from Juliet. The message read:

  “Dearest Romeo, I am so very sorry for the foolish act of my cousin.  You have lost your best friend and have been banished from Verona. Even if we can’t be together, we can spend tonight together. My dearest Romeo, I love you. Lots of love Juliet.”

The nurse scurried out of the chapel and headed back to the Capulet’s. Romeo was as white as ever. He looked like he had seen a ghost.

“Romeo, Romeo, are you still breathing?” I asked.

“She…She doesn’t hate me?” muttered Romeo.

“No, she doesn’t Romeo,” I replied soothingly.

“She loves me?” Romeo asked unbelievingly.

“Yes, Romeo. Juliet loves you.” “Go to her Romeo, go to Juliet. Be thankful that you’re still alive. But remember, don’t get caught!”

“Thank you sir. I’m truly grateful for your kind words.”

“Romeo?”

“Yes sir?”

“That’s not all. I have a plan Romeo. Go to Mantua. I will send you news. Everything will be okay. I will make sure of it.”

Romeo smiled and started walking away to Juliet.

“Romeo, one last thing?”

“Yes, Friar Lawrence?”

“You need to leave early in the morning”

Romeo nodded, smiled and then left. For once, I finally felt that something was going right.

Morning after, I was woken up by knocking at the door. I opened the door, and standing in front of me was Juliet. She had been crying. Her eyes were red and puffy.

“Juliet, dear are you okay?” I asked hushing her into the cell.

“It’s… It’s my father. He’s being really mean. I have to get married. How can I do that? I am already married. I am married to Romeo. I love Romeo not Paris” said Juliet trying to catch her breath. She went on “Friar Lawrence, what am I to do? I love Romeo, I can’t live without him. Please help me. If I can’t be with Romeo, I shall kill myself.”

“Calm down Juliet. Now I have an idea. It’s risky but could work.”

“Go on…” said Juliet.

“Well, I have this potion. It’s very special and has powerful effects. It is a special sleeping potion and it makes you look dead, but of course you’re not dead. After forty two hours you will wake up.”

Juliet was nodding with everything that I was saying. “So after forty two hours I would wake. And me and Romeo could be together again?”

“Juliet, drink this potion the night before your wedding. Everyone will think your dead and instead of having wedding, they will be having a funeral instead. Then, your body will be put in your family vault.” I took a sigh.

“I will send a message through a messenger to Romeo and he will come back to Verona and be there when you wake up. You will be able to run away together.”

“I’ll do it” said Juliet. “I’m not going to lie, I’m scared, but I need to be with Romeo. Romeo is my life and I’ll do anything to be with him.

The next morning, I got a message sent from the Capulet’s. Juliet was dead. I hurried over to the Capulet’s and was greeted by a weeping Lady Capulet.

“She… is dead,” cried Lady Capulet. “My dear Juliet has died.”

I soothed Lady Capulet. I knew she wasn’t really dead. But to her parents, she was. I had sent a letter to Romeo telling him about our plan, telling him Juliet wasn’t really dead and she had taken a potion. I handed the sealed letter to Friar John. He then left.

An hour or so later, Friar John returned with the letter.

“Why did you not send the letter?” I asked worrying.

Friar John explained that he got caught up in a house which had the plague and couldn’t possibly deliver the letter to Romeo. He then lowered his head and walked swiftly out the door.

“Friar John, Friar John” I shouted frantically. He just kept walking. Now I was extremely worried. If Romeo didn’t get the letter, that means he doesn’t know that Juliet is alive. Romeo said he would kill himself if he didn’t get to be with Juliet.

I rushed as fast as I could to the vault. There was blood at the entrance to the vault. I started panicking. The thought of Romeo killing himself because he didn’t get the letter sent me cold. There was blood but no sign of Romeo. I called out his name. There was no answer. I walked into the vault. Juliet was lying there, looking very peaceful but she wasn’t dead. I then looked down and saw Paris and Romeo. Paris was dead with a dagger hanging out of his chest. Romeo was on the floor lying next to Juliet holding her hand. I shook him but he never moved. I called his name but he still didn’t move. Lying next to Romeo was a bottle with poison written on it. Romeo had drunk the poison when he saw Juliet and thought she was dead. At that moment. Juliet woke up.

“Juliet, we need to leave, right now!” I said trying to pull her up.

Juliet looked around and saw Paris and Romeo dead.

“What… What has happened? Why… Why is Paris dead? And why is Romeo not moving?” Shrieked Juliet. She started shaking.

“Romeo thought you were dead. He couldn’t bear to leave you. He took the poison.” Juliet cried loudly.

“Listen Juliet, night watchmen are coming. They are going to see you alive, Paris with a dagger in his chest and Romeo dead. This is not a good situation. We need to leave.”

“I’m not going anywhere!” screamed Juliet. With that Juliet picked up the bottle of poison. She shook the bottle but there was nothing left. So she picked up Romeo’s dagger. Before I could speak, she drove the dagger into her chest. Juliet had killed herself.

I was the only one who knew the whole story. I told the Prince and both the families. I told them that their fighting is what caused this. I told them that Romeo and Juliet loved each other. I told them that their fighting is what caused this. Their love was powerful and no one could ever understand. I tried to help them. I told them I married them. All they wanted was to be together, although everything went wrong and they were now both dead. Eventually, the Capulet’s and the Montague’s made up. But nothing could bring them back to life. Romeo and Juliet were dead.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. Aleunam says:

    My goodness. HBL. What an amazing piece of writing. I was close to tears at the end, even though I know the story inside out. I love the dramatic, play-like style you have used to retell the story which gives a very immediate and moving impact. I felt like I was watching a series on TV with modern day characters. Very contemporary. A sterling piece of work. Well done

  2. I am really impressed with this piece of writing. It shows how well you have looked at the play & really thought about it from another viewpoint. Excellent!

Leave a Reply

