London 2012 : Simply Amazing .

Posted: September 10, 2012 by rosalindayli in Event, news

When i’m ninety and i tell my grandchildren about London 2012 , I want then to know how it felt to be there , how excited we felt , how our emotions ran and how proud we were.

When London won the Olympic bid back in 2005 , it didn’t even register with me , I didn’t think I’d watch the 2012 Olympics but when it finally came along, I did. And to be honest I thought it was really amazing how London created such a overwhelming atmosphere and it just felt like the world had forgotten everything and all the problems such as the recession , wars etc we have and we all just came together as one world and enjoyed the games.
One of my best highlights of London 2012 Olympics was when Usain Bolt won the 100m and 200m final, I just think that it was the most exciting and overwhelming 9 seconds of my life when his foot steped onto that finishing line , although I’m not Jamacian it just felt good to see everyone cheering & smiling and supporting him although he wasn’t from their team.
Another thing I also liked about the Olympics was the fact that everyone played a part in the Olympics, of course we weren’t athletes but something as simple as giving tourist instructions played a part in the games.

Comments
  1. INC says:

    Good work ADS. I think your second sentence is the strongest. It has immediacy and conveys some of the emotion you felt effectively. I also like the way you describe Usain Bolt’s races. The repetition of the word overwhelming links back to your opening paragraph.

  2. ROH says:

    Your pice of work is very enjoyable to read :). The way that you desscribed Usain’s race was wonderful and when you said that the world came together as one really spoke the true meaning of the Olyipics.

  3. lrac2 says:

    I really enjoyed reading this, like you I was cynical about the Olympics and Paralympics until they took place. I liked the simile of “icy veins” but I think it would be better stylistically not to then explain what you meant in a further sentence, you could have said something on the lines of “my cynical, icy veins…” which would have had more punch.

Leave a Reply

