In Honour of Shakespeare’s Birthday: A Sonnet

Posted: April 26, 2012 by INC in HBL, poetry, Pupil
Tags: , , ,

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The pupils in the Secondary Classroom worked with the Fire Poet, Philip Wells, looking at sonnets and composing one together. Here it is:

Ocean Rose
The ocean light is a blue rose opening
My morning eyes to the glare of the sun
I listen to the whisper of the ocean noises ring
And I wish for the dolphin’s leaping fin.

Here in the sleep I am with them –
On my lids, in the quiet anything can happen
My sleeping hands could move and turn to wings
Of doves or fish that dart and swim

Into the unendable darkness and return
With scales shimmering in silvers
To the ocean light of the burning sun
Rising to the centre though the ether
My heart is filled with white love,
The magic pollen of the pure ocean rose.

By HBL, SD, AK, SR

Comments
  1. […] Click to view slideshow.The pupils in the Secondary Classroom worked with the Fire Poet, Philip Wells, looking at sonnets and composing one together. Here it is: […]

  2. Eleanor C says:

    I love this sonnet! A really sensory experience to read it – you’ve captured such a lot of colour, light and movement in the words and images you’ve chosen. Hope you enjoyed working with Philip. Well done on a great poem!

    • hbl010 says:

      I’ve missed both of the previous sessions when Philip has come into the secondary classroom but I am looking forward to next week’s session. I have read both poems that the secondary classroom has wrote and I think they are fantastic. Thank you for visiting our school blog and please come again 🙂

  3. Aleunam says:

    What a lovely way to clelbrate Shakespeare’s birthday. I was sitting in my office listening to the students working with Philip, our poet in residence. The two-ing and fro-ing of ideas was a pleasure to eavesdrop on, and what a fantastic result!

Leave a Reply

