Going to the Globe Theatre in a wheelchair

Posted: December 14, 2010 by hbl010 in general, globe theatre, HBL, Pupil, Schoolwork
Tags: , , ,

On Thursday I went to the Globe Theatre to see ROH and JC perform. I was looking forward to going there, but on foot, not in a wheelchair. I had to go in a wheelchair because I had hurt my back.

On Wednesday, I was in school playing PE. As I ran to get the ball, I slipped backwards and landed flat on my back. As a result, my lower back felt like my little sister had been bouncing on me all night.

Back to Thursday. We took a cab to the Globe Theatre and got our seats. Because I was in a wheelchair, we got out seats upgraded to a box with much more comfortable seats. The show started at 1pm. There were lots of great performances. There was primary school children, police and Globe theatre youth groups. The best act was the Globe theatre youth group 11+. ROH and JC did an amazing performance but can’t say the same for the police officers. They didn’t know there words, lack of choreography, some of the police officers had to have the song words in their hats.

At the end of the performance, we went to a reception. We stayed there for about 30 minutes, we had mince pies and apple and cinnamon tea.

It was about half three and we decided we was going to leave so we went to the reception and asked if they could book a taxi for us, but because the student protesting there were no cabs. So I strapped myself into the wheelchair and braced myself for the rough journey home. VDR pushed me home. What an uncomfortable journey that was! Going over the bumpy pavement seriously hurt. By the time I got home my back was hurting twice as much.

That night watching sky news, I saw the students rioting. I was so shocked. All the drama that was happening was only 15 minute walk away from the concert for winter at the Globe theatre.

By HBL.

Comments
  1. evelinasec says:

    NIce work hbl. I see you have conquered the ‘read more of this post option’. 🙂
    How about practising inserting a slide show with photos of the Globe?

  2. hbl010 says:

    Thanks for the comment Evelinasec. Yes you showed me how to add dividing thingy when I first wrote my post on leukaemia and remembered how to do it 🙂

    I will put some pictures up of the Globe Theatre.

  3. CMS says:

    A very well written piece, sounds like you had a really fun trip, if not a little bit uncomfortable for you HBL! i have always wanted to visit The Globe, although it sounds like you could have done a much better job than the policemen HBL! 😀

    • hbl010 says:

      Thank you for the comment.
      Yes, it was very very comfortable but also was a experience. A VERY memorable experience.
      The policemen were awlful. They had no choreography and just looked a mess on the stage. The younger children put them to shame. LOL 🙂

  4. JC says:

    i rember that haha it was quite funny x

Leave a Reply

