Acute Lymphoblastic Leukaemia Blog Part Two

Posted: September 2, 2010 by rosalindayli in HBL, Leukaemia, medical conditions, Pupil

Part Two 

             The first day going to the Royal Marsden felt scary but I had to do it for H. It was so scary because I knew it was happening. On my way there I was thinking it was all a dream and I would wake up and everything would be fine but I guess life isn’t that easy.

                As we arrived at the Royal Marsden, I Started to feel sick, I wanted to go home and pretend that nothing was happening, but that wouldn’t be fair on H. When we arrived at the front desk, the nurse asked us who we was looking for. She then directed us to H’s bed. On the way, I was told to prepare for the worse, but as I walked in, H was sitting there playing with toys and listening to music. I couldn’t believe that H had CANCER. The whole day, I sat and prayed that the doctor’s had got it wrong, I wished H was better.   

                Going home was very hard; I didn’t want to leave H or my mum. The Royal Marsden was such a long way away from home and anything could happen to her. The whole night I never slept just in case something happened to H, I was texting my mum every five minutes making sure she was okay and nothing had happened.

            It started getting easier visiting H as I was there every day. H started treatment a couple of days after arriving at the Marsden. She had a portacath put in and her very first dose of chemotherapy. A portacath is a medical device which is used in cancer patients to have chemotherapy and blood tests through. The special device is inserted under anesthetic in the upper chest. The portacath is connected to a vein, which is how it gets the blood to do tests.

            A couple of days before H leaving the Royal Marsden she had to have her hair cut. The day H had her curly hair off, I went to visit her. She looked different, but not in a bad way. I thought she would look weird with short hair but she didn’t.

Even with short hair H looked GORGEOUS.

Comments
  1. evelinasec says:

    This is a very positive post about a very difficult situation, hbl. You have managed successfully to describe your fears and shock at your sister’s illness, without being sounding in the least bit self-pitying. You blend fact and feelings very skilfully.
    There are a couple of places where you need to edit, so read through it carefully and you can correct it tomorrow.
    Well done.

  2. Julia says:

    A very moving and brave account of your visit to the Marsden. I found this quite compelling to read. It creates a graphic picture of the scene at the hospital and the emotional impact of your visit. Well done for writing such a focussed account.

  3. hols18 says:

    @ evelinasec , thank you for your comment. I will now go through and re-read the post, and change any mistakes that I have made.
    @ Julia, Thank you for your positive comment 🙂

  4. Pseu says:

    What a difficult thing to write about and you have done it so well.
    I will keep a look out for any more news

  5. Dr Bishop says:

    I found your account very moving. Well done and thank you.
    Dr Bishop

  6. MRSMOSES says:

    You write very honestly and movingly – Well done. I know this has been a difficult time for you also, but I am sure that your love and support is very valued by your sister and the rest of your family.

  7. Catherine McCarthy says:

    Well done for writing this – I know a little of how you feel. My younger sister had cancer a couple of years ago and I went with her to all her chemo appointments – it gets easier as you get more used to it…

    She also shaved her head – but somehow managed to look great like that! Her hair has grown back now and she’s fit and healthy. It’s hard being strong for her when you feel so scared in side. She’s lucky to have you…very lucky.

    • hbl says:

      Thank you for a positive comment. H’s hair also has started to grow back and to be honest I think she looks better without hair, and the best thing is that it hasn’t bothered her one little bit 🙂

  8. Aleunam says:

    A very clear and concise account of that first day at e Royal Marsden. Whenever we hear the word ‘cancer’ we automatically assume the worst. It is important to remember that for many many people recovery is possible and the illness can be held in check.
    I love your style of writing. It is very immediate. You draw the reader into the experience, just like in a novel. The effect is very powerful. I can’t wait for the next installment.

  9. Rebecca says:

    You write really well about a very difficult subject. I was moved and inspired. I’m looking forward to reading more of your writing.

  10. Eleanor C says:

    Really well done for writing such an engaging blog post about such a difficult subject. You capture very clearly so many of the different emotions you experienced on those different visits and when you were away from your sister too. What came across most strongly for me was your ability to see past the strange hospital environment, your sister’s diagnosis and the bewildering array of medical equipment and treatments and leave the reader with a very strong reminder that H is first and foremost your gorgeous sister! I agree with Catherine above – she is very lucky to have you and your support.

  11. Sue says:

    I read your post and, over these past days, found myself often thinking of you, as well as H and your mum. I finally realized that the way you wrote about these events let me feel as if I was right there with you. Initially, I felt confusion and fear but then your strength, resolve and positive attitude came through. I was happy that H was gorgeous with short hair.
    Thanks for allowing me to come along.

  12. Russ says:

    It’s very moving reading your accounts of your sister’s illness. You are being such a support for your family. Well done – Thank you for sharing your news in this way.

  13. HBL says:

    Thank you for a lovely comment Russ 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

