St George and the Dragon

Posted: April 23, 2010 by orlandoayli in festivals and remembrance, fun, general, poetry
Tags: ,

St George and the Dragon

St George looked at the dragon

And much to his surprise

He noticed that the dragon

Had large appealing eyes.

‘Pardon me.’ said brave St George,

‘I hear you’re cruel and sly.’

‘Oh no not me,’ the dragon said,

‘I wouldn’t hurt a fly.’

‘I’ve come to slay you,’ said St George,

‘And save the maiden fair

That you have captured, and no doubt

Imprisoned in your lair.’

‘I used to be both cruel and sly,

Of that there is no doubt,’

Replied the dragon, but not now,

My fire has all burnt out.

The maiden you have come to save

Has made a pet of me.

She takes me walkies on a lead

And feeds me cups of tea.

So if you want to do brave deeds

The like the which I’ve read,

Please take the maiden home with you,

And so dave me instead.’

by Finloa Aleister chosen by JC yr 8

Comments
  1. orlandoayli says:

    i think this poem is wicked

  2. j.c says:

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

